For the love of tofu

Growing up, both of my sisters were vegetarians, my parents were true meat eaters and I was in the middle as the pickiest eater in the family. I don’t eat most meat but I wouldn’t call myself a vegetarian. When we were little, these mixed palates meant my mother had to find something that all three of us would eat. Something she made frequently was tofu.

In my picky state of mind, my mother’s version of Toby’s Tofu was the only kind of tofu I would eat. She got the recipe from a 1979 newspaper article about Toby Alves, the owner of Toby’s Tofu. The article still sits in my mother’s big green recipe book and I pull it out every once in a while to make dinner.

Today, my appreciation for other tofu recipes has expanded, but I still love a good dinner of Toby’s tofu with brown rice and a salad.

Tofu, brown rice and a simple green salad

A comparable version to Toby’s –

            2 lb of firm tofu

            2- 3 tablespoons canola oil

            ½ teaspoon turmeric

            1 teaspoon dill

             ½ teaspoon basil, salt, cumin, thyme, curry

            2 cloves crushed garlic

            ¼ cup soy sauce

            ¼ nutritional yeast

            1 8 oz. can tomato sauce

Drain the tofu a while in advance before you start cooking, towel dry if needed. Cut into ¾ inch cubes. Heat oil on high heat in a large wok or frying pan. Sauté tofu for 10-15 minutes until it is golden brown. Reduce heat, add turmeric until tofu is evenly yellow. Stir in rest of spices including garlic. Turn up heat, add soy sauce, stirring constantly. Add nutritional yeast then tomato sauce, add more sauce if it seems dry

One thought on “For the love of tofu

Leave a Reply

