Una pizzetta for dinner

I was feeling a bit nostalgic for Italy yesterday so I decided to make some pizza for dinner. I left the grocery store with a mesh of ingredients – pepper, pineapple, olives, basil, potato. They aren’t your standard Italian toppings but are still all delicious. 

I couldn’t use them all because the pizza was small. I chose to make some fresh pesto for the base, threw on some mozzarella and topped the whole thing with olives, pineapple chunks and walnuts. (I decided to save the pepper and potato for a breakfast scramble.) 

It was a bit of an odd combo but I feel as though it’s difficult to ruin a pizza, plus it was fun to try new flavors.

Next, with summer in full swing, it’s time for some fun with grilling. First up will be an attempt at watermelon burgers, a new idea from Mark Bittman.

Leave a Reply

