Tasty n Sons – NE Portland

During a day trip to Portland with my mother and my sister, we stopped at Tasty n Sons for lunch.

The restaurant had a great vibe. It had high ceilings and the front of the restaurant was mainly open onto the street, making it feel spacious even though it was packed. The kitchen was not closed off and instead all patrons at the bar were facing it and could see the chefs working.

We ordered glazed yams with cumin maple syrup and a raddichio salad with parmesan vinaigrette to share. The yams were delicious – a good combination of crispy and yammy. I didn’t love the salad. I am not used to the bitterness of raddichio and it was too intense for me.

For our main dishes, Claire had heirloom tomato soup with grilled cheese, my mother ordered a fried green tomato BLT and I had the fried egg and cheddar biscuit with chicken. I got to have bites of everybody’s food which was fun.

Claire’s soup was a great twist on tomato soup – it wasn’t too creamy and the heirloom tomato gave it some punch. The BLT was the first time I had fried green tomato! It was not my favorite flavor, (especially since I’m still battling tomatoes) but now I can say I’ve tried it! My sandwich was protein rich but a bit heavy which is why it was good that it was small.

For dessert, we shared Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta topped with berries and grappa – a perfect few bites to tie off an excellent meal.

2 thoughts on “Tasty n Sons – NE Portland

Leave a Reply

