Butternut squash soup

The best cure for a gloomy Sunday – soup!

I had leftover butternut squash from risotto I made the night before, so I hunted down a recipe on Epicurious – butternut squash with fried sage leaves and parmesan- and went to work.

With so few ingredients, it seemed like the recipe needed some pep. I added 4 cloves of garlic for a bit more flavor which helped a lot. Also, I used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth.

The fried sage leaves on top were awesome, I had never had them before and they added a nice little crunch to the creamy soup. However, I think that more sage blended into the soup would have made it even better.

It was a perfect soup for the turn of the seasons – I can’t wait for more great Autumn flavors to come!

One thought on “Butternut squash soup

Leave a Reply

